Lubbock County, Texas

State Of Texas - County Of Lubbock

Text Size: A | A | A

About Us

The Lubbock County Commissioners created an Alternative Dispute Resolution System in 1985. In 1988, the Office of Dispute Resolution began receiving regular referrals from the District Attorney. Mandatory mediation for divorcing couples began in 1989. In 1991, mediation for civil cases became mandatory, as well as moderated settlement conferences for County Court at Law cases. Since 1999 the scheduling order for all civil cases has included a mandatory mediation date.

The South Plains Association of Governments administered these services until 2003. At that time, Lubbock County assumed responsibility for operating the system and the various services it provides.

In 2000, Governor Bush appointed, and in 2004 Governor Perry reaffirmed, our ADR System to administer the USDA Mediation Program in Texas. In January 2006, the Office of Dispute Resolution officially became a Domestic Relations Office (DRO), providing family-related services. With the DRO designation, the Community Supervision program began in December of 2006.
The Texas Dispute Resolution System operates four distinct programs:
  • Texas Rural Mediation Services provides dispute resolution services to people affected by the actions of the USDA, as well as to rural Texans for any type of dispute.
  • South Plains Alternative Dispute Resolution System provides mediation services within the South Plains region. Mediation services are available if ordered by the judge. Counties within the region are responsible for any fees not paid by the parties.
  • Domestic Relations Office provides family-related mediation, the Community Supervision Program for non-payment of child support obligations, social studies, supervised visitation and other services allowed by the Texas Family Code.

Contact Us

In this Department

More Information