# LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE (LEPC) MEETING MINUTES THURSDAY FERRILARY 8 2007

## THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2007

**Lubbock Emergency Communication District** 

#### **Attendees:**

Tim Berry, Lubbock EMS
Dan Cantore, Covenant
Dan Dennison, City of Lubbock
Mike Fitchett, Covenant

Sandy Fortenberry, City of Lubbock County

Gerry Grant, LP&L Vince Ochotorena, UBS Jay Parchman, Texas Tech Richard Sims, Texas State Guard

Paul Winn, Xcel Energy J.D. Young, Shallowater

Mande Reeves, County Judge's Office

Mark Brown, Ag. Extension Everett Davis, Lubbock County Kathleen Finley, City of Lubbock

Hope Floeck, Breedlove

Dave Freriks, Salvation Army James Hargrave, RACES Nick Olenik, Lubbock County

Joe Rietz

Clinton Thetford, RACES

Renee Witherspoon, City of Lubbock Susan Youngblood, Texas Tech

#### **Public Comments**

No Public Comment.

### **Approval of Minutes**

Jerry Grant made a motion to approve the minutes from the November 9, 2006 meeting a second was made by Renee Witherspoon. Motion passed.

#### **Subcommittee Reports**

Right to Know and Certification Committee- No report.

**Public Education and Information Committee**-Renee Witherspoon gave a PowerPoint presentation of the activities her committee has participated in with the Wally Wise Guy program. Notification has been given that the LEPC has again received the Hazardous Materials Emergency Preparedness Grant in the amount of \$21,572.00, \$17,257.60 in grant funds, and \$4,314.40 in soft match.

**Training and Membership-**Wants to recruit new members, received several committee volunteers.

**Emergency Response and Resource Committee-** Clinton Thetford reported that there is an effort to coordinate between volunteer groups. There are surplus Lubbock County computers that will be made available to agencies that support emergency management.

Hazardous Materials Facilities Liaison Committee-No Report

#### **Consider Changes to LEPC Bylaws**

Changes were recommended to the Final Rules, Section II, Public Participation in Planning Process, inserting the word "ensure" in number 1, 2 and 3.

A motion was made by Dave Freriks to adopt the Bylaws as presented with the recommended change; a second was made by Joe Rietz. Motion Passed.

# **Consider nomination and election of Chair and Vice Chair**

The presiding chair opened the floor for nominations for Chair, Dan Dennison was nominated. Judge Tom Head was nominated.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice Chair, Dan Dennison was nominated.

Tom Head was elected Chair.

Dan Dennison was elected Vice Chair.

# **Other Business**

The LEPC contact number has changed from Ken Olsen's old number to 775-1595.